The Wichita Jazz Festival enjoys the expertise of top professionals who work in all aspects of our Festival organization. We have community leaders, educators, media personalities, marketing executives, and music enthusiasts on our Board of Directors. If you would like to be part of our volunteer group, or are interested in helping in an even greater capacity, please get in touch with any of the member of the WJF Board of Directors, or send a message to

Wichita Jazz Festival Board of Directors



Ken White                                                                             Howerton+White


Bill Harshbarger
Air House Studios, Maize Public Schools (retired), Professional Musician/Consultant

Ted Vlamis
Pioneer Balloon Company

Marjean Harshbarger
Wichita Public Schools (retired)

Board of Directors

Gray Bishop
Derby Public Schools, Wichita Symphony Orchestra

Mark Foley
Professor of Bass, Wichita State University, Principal Bass, Wichita Symphony Orchestra

Frances Jackson                                                                  Dunbar / McAdams Arts & Business District

Kathe Thompson
WSU Music Associates Board

Gary Jones

WJF Advisory Council

Ted Blankenship
WJF Founder/first President, Retired Editorial writer, Eagle-Beacon

Doris Buss
Founder and original WJF Board Member 

JC Combs
Professor Emeritus, Wichita State University

Geoffrey Deibel
Professor of Saxophone, Florida State University

Anita Jones
Community Arts Advocate

Sue Pearce
CFO, The Piping & Equipment Company

Matt Wilson
Jazz Drummer & WSU alum, NYC