The Wichita Jazz Festival enjoys the expertise of top professionals who cover all of our needs as an organization. We have community leaders, educators, media personalities, marketing executives, and music enthusiasts on our Board of Directors. If you would like to be part of our volunteer staff, or are interested in getting in touch with us about helping out in an even greater capacity, please get in touch with any of the member of the WJF Board of Directors, or send a message to

2016 Wichita Jazz Festival Board of Directors


Geoffrey Deibel
Assistant Professor of Saxophone, and Jazz Studies, Wichita State University

Gray Bishop
Derby Public Schools, Wichita Symphony Orchestra

Mark Foley
Professor of Bass, Wichita State University, Principal Bass, Wichita Symphony Orchestra

Ted Vlamis
Vice President, Pioneer Balloon Company

Marjean Harshbarger
Wichita Public Schools (retired)

Board of Directors

Samuel L. Brown
Director, Hugo Wall School of Public Affairs,
Wichita State University

Rhonda Holman Welch
Wichita Eagle, (retired)

William Flynn
Assistant Professor of Guitar, Wichita State University

Chris Heim
Host/Producer/Arts Reporter, KMUW
(Global Village, Night Train, Crossroads)

Ken White
Managing Partner, Director of Digital Innovation, Howerton+White

Joel Linscheid
Instructor of Music, Bethel College

Bill Harshbarger
Instructor, Air House Studios, Maize Public Schools (retired), Professional Musician/Consultant

Seth Carrithers
Coordinator, Wichita State University Jazz Invitational

WJF Advisory Council

JC Combs
Professor Emeritus, Wichita State University

Gaylord Dold

Dave Freeman
Chief Meteorologist, KSN-TV

Richard Leslie
Owner, The Cotillion

Sue Pearce
CFO, The Piping & Equipment Company

Matt Wilson
Jazz Drummer, NYC